Skip to navigation

Who We Are

Board Members

Dr Gabriel Varga


President of the WSAVA Foundation and Director of Business Operations and Strategy for NE at Zoetis heads the Project Board. Having trained in the Slovak Republic, Dr Varga has first-hand experience of how the creation of sustainable veterinary networks accelerated the growth of veterinary practice in Eastern Europe, an approach he replicated in Asia and Latin America during his term as President of the WSAVA in 2002-2004.

 Professor Michael J Day

Professor of Veterinary Pathology at the University of Bristol, United Kingdom and Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Comparative Pathology. Professor Day is a member of the Project Board. He is a Past President of BSAVA and is currently Vice President of the WSAVA Foundation and Chairman of the WSAVA One Health Committee and WSAVA Vaccination Guidelines Group. He is also a Trustee for the Mission Rabies Project.

 Dr Theo Kanellos, BVetMed, MSc, PhD, GMP, Hon DSc

Dr. Theo Kanellos is Director of Strategic Alliances of Zoetis where he established research collaborations and veterinary alliances with several Universities and institutions in Europe, Africa and Middle East. He is a Board member in several Research Organisations and also acts as an expert advisor in several international and national research related bodies. His main focus is to advance animal and human health through impactful innovation.

 Dr Remo Lobetti

Currently works as a specialist physician in private practice in Johannesburg, South Africa. Previously was an associate professor in Small Animal Medicine at the Faculty of Veterinary Science at Onderstepoort. Has had first hand experience with assisting veterinarians in uplifting their standards of practice in countries such as Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Zambia and Madagascar under the umbrella of Animal Aid Africa.

 Dr Alejandro B. Thiermann

President, Terrestrial Animal Health Standards Commission at the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE). Dr. Thiermann has been president of the OIE's international standard setting committee, the Terrestrial Animal Health Code Commission since 2000. He has been seconded, by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Services (USDA-APHIS), to the OIE headquarters in Paris to devote full time to the work of this Commission as well as serve as the senior advisor to the Director General. During 1997-1999 he was twice elected Chairman of the World Trade Organisation, Sanitary and Phytosanitary (WTO-SPS) Committee. He was also an active member of LLS delegations to the negotiation of the Uruguay Round of the WTO, the drafting of the new International Plant Protection Convention (IPPC), also served for two ears as the U.S. Co-ordinator for the Codex Alimentarius. Dr. Thiermann joined USDA-APHIS in 1989 as the Deputy Administrator for International Services. In this capacity, he promoted APHIS' role in trade facilitation. Before joining APHIS, he was the National Program Leader for Animal Health Research under the USDA Agriculture Research Service (ARS). He began his career with the U.S. Government in 1979 as the research leader for the leptospirosis and the mycobacterioses research laboratories in Ames, Iowa. A native of Chile, Dr. Thiermann received his doctorate of veterinary medicine degree from the University of Chile at Santiago, and PhD degree in medical microbiology and immunology from the School of Medicine at Wayne State University in Michigan, USA.